“I choose” Part4 Woman at the well

I have modified my teaching of this part to address only 10 points of interest. I know that sounds abundant, yet each point is a building block to the revelation I got from the Holy Ghost. Check this out, if you’ve been following this teaching you will recall I told you the Holy Spirit gave this to me about 23 years ago. Alana came up to me yesterday with a 13 page teaching on the woman at the well I had written 15 years ago. I had given it to her to read 7 months ago and forgot about it. She said I should take this post down and submit the older one, maybe another time…

The stand I take and the proclamation I make is; I can take this same text and show you a total different teaching about the woman at the well. I have already pointed out virtues of this woman in part 2 that speaks the exact opposite evaluation this woman has been dealt since Jesus’s day.

I choose for myself, you have no control over my decision. Base your decision on how you view the facts and ideas presented. This makes Luke 6:45 open up for us A good man out of the good treasure of his heart bringeth forth that which is good: and an evil man from the evil treasure in his heart bringeth forth that which is evil: for of the abundance of the heart his mouth speaketh.

Its highly likely during this teaching you will see sin in your life. What will you do ? Is someone watching, are you too prideful to repent ? To humble yourself under the mighty hand of God? I heard a spirit – filled sold out to God gospel preacher say, “the closer I get to God, the more I repent.” I love that wisdom.

If you are familiar with the traditional teaching about this woman at the well all the dirt anyone can get on her comes from verse 18. For thou hast had five husbands: and he whom thou hast now is not you husband” in that saidst thou truly…

Just to point out the error in most commentators or preachers point of view, consider this; based on this verse error says, “She was an adulteress and probably sleeping with another woman’s husband !” I choose, “impossible, cant be, no way !” In John chapter 8 a woman is being stoned for adultery. Adultery was against the law, you get caught, you die. To accuse this woman in this act would be to ignore the customs and law of that time. Not to mention John chapter 8, which is enough for me…

For whatever reason Jesus recognized a biblical divorce with all 5 husbands. Jesus says, For thou hast had five husbands. Not one of these 5 men had any legitimate claim or devotion to this woman. And according to the Law, she had a bill of divorce from each one of these men which stated the reason for the divorce. Jesus said it was”  hardness of your heart” or your refusal to forgive that Moses decreed a bill of divorce. If a man found her pleasing and desired to marry her, she had to show this bill because she was not a virgin. This bill allowed the woman to remain dignified and not accused of harlotry for her not being a virgin. What do you think was the reason or reasons written on these bills of divorce? You can choose anything you desire because we have no evidence, so speculate. Maybe that she burned the bread, broke a dish, or forgot to let the dog out. Let me speculate, I believe the reason was abstinence or she just did not enjoy sex. Have you ever heard that one before? Remember I said, I would use these verses to support my theory? Abstinence 5 times that’s what I believe, and she was absolutely beautiful. Have you ever heard that before? She was married 5 times do you think she was ugly? What would be more frustrating to a macho male than to have a beautiful wife who did not enjoy sex?

Let me push this point a little. Divorced for her lack of interest in sex and absolutely beautiful, what do think husband number two was thinking? “Well sweetheart you ain’t meet me yet!” I think each time husband 3, 4, and 5 felt the same way, typical male machoism. And each time the marriage ended with an over frustrated defeated narcissistic dude writing a bill of divorce.

Lets see what we got, a virtuous beautiful woman that does not like sex living with a man that’s not her husband. I have heard preacher after preacher say, “Well there you go! Shacking up, having sex and ain’t even married!” Do you know for sure that she was having sex? How do you know that? Not by the text, that’s by your heart. I choose to believe she was not having sex and can prove my point better. If she was having sex, she would have been married by God’s definition of the act. Consider Genesis chapter 24 vs 67 And Isaac brought her into his mother’s Sarah’s tent, and took Rebekah, and she became his wife… When God’s children engage in sex they are married. I bet you wanted to log out on that one. You need to acknowledge that sex between Isaac and Rebekah manifested marriage, no ceremony, no license, Abraham had not even met Rebekah and they are married. How many times have you been married? Sex is marriage and sex outside of marriage is adultery. Are you having problems in your marriage? Maybe its because one of you two is living in adultery.

I choose to believe the woman at the well was not having sex with the man she had or Jesus would have recognized their marriage. What could be the reason that the woman was living with this man? Scripture does not tell us but I choose to believe this man had another woman for his wife and our well woman was a servant to pay or compensate for her place to live. She was at the well getting water that was a servants duty. If I follow what I choose to believe it goes like this; this virtuous beautiful woman who does not like sex is living in a house not having sex with the man of the house but doing servant duties to pay her up keep. Its not hard for me to believe that once this woman was divorced by husband 5 that she was living in the street beautiful and unprotected. This man’s wife knowing all about her, knowing she would not have sex with her husband, told her husband that they needed to put her in the spare room and get her off the streets before someone attacks her and she can work to earn her keep.

There is much controversy as to the time of day that this woman appears at the well. Most commentators use this to further the evil in their hearts by saying, “this shady lady was ostracized, an outcast, immoral and socially unacceptable by the women of her town.” You see, the women in these times usually go to the well in the morning in groups. Some commentators say that this was a time of socializing and just doing girl-stuff. Wrong ! The reason the women traveled in groups was for protection, not from villains and robbers, protection from their own husbands. In almost every group of women, one of them is having marital problems, things just ain’t the way they should be. Their husbands are looking for any reason to kick them out and being in a group, they could vouch for each others faithfulness away from their husbands. Our woman at the well did not need any back-up, she wasn’t married and did not like sex anyway and everyone knew it. Sure everyone knew it, she had been married 5 times. There was no locker-room talk about this woman, she was a virtuous descent person that just needed living water, like everyone. So why was she here at high noon instead of the morning? I choose to believe that as custom would have it most people were taking a nap or siesta during this hotter part of the day meaning most men were asleep and it was safer for her travel alone to the well. Why was she not with the women? Could be because she was beautiful and not-so-beautiful ( my wife won’t let me say ugly) women were jealous. Naah, that could never happen. Or could it have been she got tired of peer pressure and ridicule because of her abstinence? These are my choices, prove me wrong…

So how is it this woman at the well could have such a candid conversation with the man Jesus without traditional reservations? Have you ever had a beautiful, attractive friend of the opposite sex that you just love to death and sensual desires never manifest because you knew it is and never will be an option? Most women love their gay guy friends for this reason. I love my beautiful friends, their so beautiful and fun and happy, no hang-ups over sex to ruin our friendship. Consider this verse in Titus: 1:15 Unto the pure all things are pure: but unto them that are defiled and unbelieving is nothing pure; but even their mind and conscience is defiled. I know Jesus is pure. I choose to believe this woman is pure also and both of them could talk because they had no intention of the conversation going sexual and defiled. Its such a powerful thing to be in the presence of a beautiful person and dominant your flesh. Don’t get me wrong, I have ugly friends also and I love them to pieces.

Let me show you something in the text you probably never seen before pertaining to the subject were on. Look at John chap 4 vs. 27 And upon this came his disciples, and marveled that he talked with the woman: yet no man said, What sleekest thou? or, Why talkest thou with her? Did you noticed his disciples “marveled”? What does it mean to “marvel?” It means to be filled with wonder, admiration or astonishment, as at something surprising or extraordinary. It was not surprising or out of the ordinary that Jesus talked to women. The disciples marveled” because of her beauty. Look at the text, “yet no man said, What seekest thou? or, Why talkest thou to her?” In modern day language it goes like this: “Jesus! Dude! that chick is smoking hot! Did you get her digits? Are you guys hooking up later?” These disciples knew not to ask even though as men, the thought was there. Jesus was pure and this woman was pure and this was an amazing time spent in conversation between two of God’s favorites. This woman was a soul-winner and God loves soul-winners.

Look at how much Jesus enjoyed this conversation. The disciples return with food and say, “Master, eat.  Look at verse 32; But he said unto them, I have meat to eat that ye know not of. What was that meat? We have been discussing it the whole time, his witnessing to the woman. And, if you were to ask the woman she would say, “I have meat to eat that you know not of !” She was so satisfied that she left her water pot at the well and returned to town.Two children of God talking about kingdom stuff, this my friend is the best meat there is, no calories, delicious, cooked to perfection. I can go without food or sleep when I’m talking about Jesus and kingdom stuff, I forget about being hungry, tired or time.

This post has gone on long enough, I must end here. Remember the stand I take and the proclamation I make is; I can take the same text and show you a totally different teaching about the woman at the well. I can choose to believe the traditions taught from men and women but, I must ask myself, “How do they know that?” I understand that most of you will never be able to grasp this teaching in its entirety, yet, some of it has pricked your soul. My desire for you is to search your heart and see if there be any evil treasure buried beneath traditional teaching. Teaching that can not be substantiated by the Word of God.

Please feel free to comment and ask questions, love you guys in Christ…

One thought on ““I choose” Part4 Woman at the well

Leave a Reply

