Jesus tests, “The woman at the well” part 3

Luke 6 :45  A good man (human) out of the good treasure of his heart bringeth forth that which is good; and an evil man out of the evil treasure bringeth forth that which is evil: for of the abundance of the heart his mouth speaketh.  Jesus also said, Mark 7:15 There is nothing from without a man, that entering into him can defile him: but the things which come out of him, those are they which defile the man (human). vs 21 For from within, out of the heart of men, proceed evil thoughts, adulteries, fornications, murders, vs 22 Thefts, covetousness, wickedness, deceit, lasciviousness, an evil eye, blasphemy, pride, foolishness: vs 23 All these evil things come from within and defile the man.

Have you ever been around someone and they are constantly putting someone down, criticizing without concern, back-stabbing so called friends, never if hardly ever saying anything good about anybody? Jesus says their heart is evil. The fruit of their lips is evil, their heart is evil. You know the fruit, you know the root.

Helpful criticism is a blessing but someone who is negative and full of constant condemnation is a deterrent to progress. This person can only see the bad in people and choose to exploit a mistake or situation that can’t be helped by useless evil treasure spewing forth from their evil heart. The heart of such a person has been infected with man’s teachings not following the example set forth by the love of Jesus. This person, because their heart is evil, accepts and enjoys any negative news about someone and are quick to spread it. After sometime around these people, being in their company, your overloaded and burdened with problems and negative criticism to the point you despise their presence. Unless your heart is evil then you feed off one another and fertilize that evil root with hate and malice that possibly is not even true. That is gossip my friend. I must say, I have been this person, so I know what I’m talking about.

In reading the Bible I believe God gives us some latitude to imagine what might have happened. Not reading into the text itself but, how or why did this happen this way. When you imagine or speculate always recall other scripture to substantiate what your feeling or believing. There have been times when I needed clarity and understanding of a complicated text. Once when trying to understand what John the Baptist was speaking and teaching the Holy Spirit said, “Get in the water with John.” When I saw the situation from John’s perspective, actually in the river, the revelation came to me.

Let’s jump into John chapter 4 and  see the psychology Jesus used to test this woman at the well. What do we know?  Vs. 4  And he must needs go through Samaria. Vs. 6 Now Jacob’s well was there. Jesus being wearied with his journey, sat thus on the well: and it was about the sixth hour. What we know from the text is Jesus had a need to go through Samaria. We don’t know exactly what that need was. It was a shorter route to go through as opposed to around Samaria or it could have been that God wanted Jesus to minister here at this well to the people of Samaria. We also know Jesus is tired, sitting on a well and its high noon and Jesus is alone by himself, vs 8 For his disciples were gone away unto the city to buy meat. Questions come to my mind; How long did Jesus set here alone? What was Jesus thinking about as he sat here alone? This is what I think (statement qualified), Jesus was not alone he was with the Father. He was always talking to the Father. Is this why he sent all 12 disciples to get lunch, so he could be alone with the father? I mean think about it, I can carry 6 pizzas by myself, 12 guys to go get lunch? Anyway, if Jesus wanted to be alone to talk to the Father, what did they talk about? I think the Father told him about this woman that would come to the well. Why? Because she did. I think the Father told Jesus that Samaria was ready to receive the gospel. Why? Because they did. So I believe that Jesus and the Father had a conversation about what was going to happen at the well. How did Jesus know this woman had been married five times? The Father told him. Jesus said, John 8: 28 … and that I do nothing of myself; but as my Father hath taught me, I speak these things. This is a good example of backing up your speculation with scripture. Let’s carry on. So I believe that Jesus and the Father had a conversation about this woman. I believe God told Jesus that this was a good woman that had been married five times and she was religious and not married now, but she needed a check up, test her a little, see where her heart is, see if she’s real.

In verse 7 Jesus says, Give me to drink. Seems a little brash, like a demand. Nevertheless the woman received it as a request. The woman had been married five times, maybe she has a feminist complex and hates for a man to have authority? Look what Jesus says in vs. 14 But whosoever drinketh of the water that I shall give him shall never thirst; but the water that I give him shall be in him a well of water. Jesus says to her, him, him, him ! Yet in verse 21 he calls her, “Woman.” She could have said, “Hey what about us women, you got any of this water for us?” She remained calm and unshaken. Look at how Jesus challenged her intellect, vs. 10 If thou knewest the gift of God, and in verse 22 Ye worship ye know not what. I could easily interpret this as, your ignorant and don’t have a clue what your doing. I don’t know about you but I would be about ready to lose it here. Remember she don’t know she’s talking to Jesus, yet. He then attacks her personal life, the so called, mistakes she has made. In vs 16 Go call thy husband, and come hither. 17 The woman answered and said, I have no husband, Jesus said to her, Thou hast well said, I have no husband: 18 For thou hast had five husbands and he whom thou now hast is not thy husband: in that sadist thou truly. What would you say? “Is that really any of your business how many times I have been married, who are you to judge me?” She stayed calm through all this, why? Because she knew this was a man who knew God and she had no shame or conviction in her heart. She had a peace that passes all understanding that comes from praising and worshipping God.

I believe Jesus had tested her as the Father told him too and she remained calm and respectful through it all and Jesus rewarded her. In vs 26 Jesus saith unto her, I that speak unto the am he. Jesus told this woman I am the Mes-si-as, the Savior of the world, the Christ. Why would Jesus tell this woman such a declaration? He told Paul on the Damascus road, who else? To me, that puts her in special group of people.

It was over twenty years ago that God had put this teaching of the woman at well in my spirit. The Holy Spirit has continued to add more insight. Preachers, teachers and singers continue to bash and put her down. This part 3 of the testing was just given to me about three months ago. Just recently the Spirit gave me the thought of Jesus having a conversation with his Father before the woman got to the well. A lot of what I am teaching comes from what the Spirit has given me. Some of the teaching comes from my relationship with Jesus and his methods. Some of the teaching comes totally from how I choose to view this woman at the well. I am attempting with the help of the Holy Spirit to bury some good treasure into your heart. Its been traditionally taught that this woman is corrupt, I choose to believe the exact opposite. Taking these same scriptures and the Helper you will see something never taught or even imagined about this woman.

Part 4 is next and it is going to challenge the traditional teaching that this woman was an outcast and shunned by other women. You will see scripture that says this woman was absolutely beautiful. Tell a friend to join us.

 

 

One thought on “Jesus tests, “The woman at the well” part 3

Leave a Reply

