The never seen virtues of “The woman at the well” part 2

Why is it that we think certain things, possibly negative, about people we really don’t know or that we think we know? Sometimes we build an opinion of someone based on one aspect or idea that we hear or see. Most of the time, since these people are strangers to us, we don’t even know what we heard or what we saw to be true at all. Very often if what we heard was negative we automatically disregard any positive aspect or quality that person might possess. It’s as if one bad thing blinds us to any good thing about that person. Why is that? Jesus said this in Luke 6:45

A good man out of the good treasure of his heart bringeth forth that which is good; an evil man out of the evil treasure of his heart bringeth forth that which is evil; for out of the abundance of the heart his mouth speaketh.

Jesus clearly states that when we speak evil, it’s because we have evil in our hearts. Another point Jesus makes is that the heart determines a good person or an evil person. You know these people by what they say, it’s a choice. For years preachers, pastors and people have chosen one negative aspect about this woman at the well to speak evil of her. This one aspect can not be proven to be true, it comes from verse 18, Jesus says to her,

John 4:18 For thou hast had five husbands; and he whom thou now hast is not thy husband

I wanted to point out where all the evil negative comments about this woman comes from. Her whole life and reputation have been destroyed because we have chosen for years to feed our wicked imagination based on this one verse. Preachers preach about this shameless woman, singers sing about this sinner and we feed the evil in our hearts with their words. Not any more. The Holy Spirit opened the eyes of my heart to a different woman and I mean totally different.

It’s important that you read John 4: 1-42 for yourself, its you, that this study is about. I had to examine my heart and my spirit when God showed me this teaching. I’m not going to press upon you to believe anything I say, why? Because I don’t know your heart, that’s between you and God. The facts that I present to you will come from the King James Bible, it’s the sword of choice for me. I encourage you to disagree, to not believe what I say, prove it to yourself. Lets look at virtues this woman possess’ that we have never considered:

Kindness and respect; The text begins as Jesus is sitting on the well and the woman approaches. Jesus begins the conversation by wanting water. It’s basically a conversation which we will examine later but for now its just a general greeting. Everything moves along with no displays of personality until in verse 10; If thou knewest the gift of God. It’s when Jesus mentions God that we see something about the woman changes, she lowers her guard just a little and we see a little into her soul. She recognizes this man as a believer and fruits of the Spirit begin to surface in her. In kindness and respect she calls Jesus, Sir, three times, vss. 11, 15, 19. Is it not a beautiful thing when you meet someone for the first time, a total stranger, and someone mentions church, Jesus, faith or God and the conversation blasts off into a time of testifying about God and His goodness? These are the best times I get to experience, total blessings. We go from just living to bright shinning faces of light beaming with love for this stranger that I have discovered is my brother or sister, what a blessing this is! God knows when I need this most. Hint, this is the meat that Jesus is speaking of in verse 32.

Religious; Would this be a virtue of the woman who has been labeled everything but religious? Look at it for yourself, notice in verse 12 Art thou ( she is speaking to Jesus) greater than our father Jacob.. She aligns her self with Jacob, one of the patriarchs of the Old testament. Jacob was to be named Israel, father of the twelve sons who became the twelve tribes of Israel. Jesus was a Jew, he would have naturally been aligned more with Abraham. Look how the woman used the word our, our father. she is saying “ We got the same ancestors Jesus.” Notice in verse 19, Sir, I perceive thou art a prophet. A prophet? How would this wicked (sarcasm implied) woman have a clue as to what a prophet says or does? Yes mam, he’s a prophet you called that right. Still considering religious look at verse 20 Our fathers worshipped in this mountain; and ye say, that in Jerusalem is the place where men ought to worship. Notice her blood relatives attended church right here on this mountain. Notice also how familiar she is with the type church Jesus goes too and where it is, I find this amazing. In verse 25 she knows about the “Mes-si-as called Christ.” Unbelievable how this so-called wretched woman could be so religious, unbelievable.

Honest and truthful; Look at verse 17 Thou hast well said. And verse 18, in that sadist thou truly. I hear Jesus saying,” You said it right and you told the truth.” I have never heard a single preacher ever say, this woman was honest.

Humble; Look at how Jesus fires on her in verse 22 about her worship, Ye worship ye know not what: we know what we worship for salvation is of the Jews. OH MY GOODNESS ! Jesus is saying, You don’t have a clue how to worship and I know how to worship and my worship gives me eternal life. If I told you your church was lost and without hope and my church was the real God honoring place to be, how long would we be friends? She was religious and when Jesus attacked her religion, she remained humble.

Peace in her spirit, trusting;  Look at verse 28, The woman then left her waterpot,. She had peace after talking to Jesus and trusted Him enough to leave her waterpot. This waterpot was an expensive item and had important significance in some families.

Believable; In verse 29 she simply says to the town people, Come see a man, which told me all things I ever did: is not this the Christ? The Bible says, “many” came and believed and Jesus stayed two days preaching to these people the woman brought to Jesus. Wait a minute, that’s called EVANGELISM ! Have you every heard a preacher call this woman an EVANGELIST ?

Faith; I saved this one for last because it represents the thing that pleases God most. Look in verse 25 The woman saith unto him, I know that Mes-si-as cometh, which is called Christ: when he is come, he will tell us all things. Notice she did not say, my pastor told me. She did not say my mama told me. She said, “I KNOW” no doubts about it, no ifs, ands, or buts, “I KNOW.” She is a rock solid believer. Can you handle this truth about this woman ?

Before I leave this part 2 I need to ask you a question, Are virtues important? How important are virtues? If I ask you, “how did Jesus heal people?” You would probably say, well he was the son of God he had all kinds of power. I can’t disagree with that of course but, you missed the bulls eye. You hit the target but, you missed the bulls eye . Look at Luke chap 8 we have the story of the woman with an issue of blood. The story tells us this woman suffered for 12 years and then she heard about this healer named Jesus. She believed Jesus could heal her. She pressed through the crowds and touched the border of his garment. Jesus asked twice, “Who touched me?” Then in verse 46 Jesus tells why. And Jesus said, Somebody hath touched me; for I perceive that virtue is gone out of me. Virtue was the kind of power Jesus used to heal people. Another reference in Luke chap 6 19 ….. there went virtue out of him, and healed them all. Are virtues important ? Only if your about to die and need healing…

 

 

Leave a Reply

